ADALM-PLUTO (new DATV SDR)

Digital ATV - The latest generation, cutting edge ATV - Please discuss it all here.
Forum rules
This forum is run by the BATC (British Amateur Television Club), it is service made freely available to all interested parties, please do not abuse this privilege.

Thank you
F1SSF
Posts: 73
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 5:14 pm

Re: ADALM-PLUTO (new DATV SDR)

Post by F1SSF » Tue Dec 11, 2018 8:43 pm

Yes Mike,
I have try SDRAngel, it run very well. I received 2 meters bands, FM brodcast, perfectly.
I don't understand your term "remember what I said about locales"?

g0mjw
Posts: 935
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2014 9:15 am

Re: ADALM-PLUTO (new DATV SDR)

Post by g0mjw » Tue Dec 11, 2018 9:16 pm

Locales - the language your PC is set to. Try setting it to English. I am wondering if there are bugs in the software perhaps.

G4GUO
Posts: 628
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 12:51 pm

Re: ADALM-PLUTO (new DATV SDR)

Post by G4GUO » Thu Dec 13, 2018 10:00 am

Franck I tried emailing you but the message bounced.
Here is the email I sent.

Hi Franck,
I have been following your thread on the forum but I didn't say anything because I don't know what is
wrong!
I have inputted the parameters you gave into my program and the output looks fine so I don't think it
is a bug in the DATV-Express program.

Please send me the configuration file you are using, it should be in the folder where the executable is located
and is called datvexpress.cfg

- Charles

G4FRE
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri May 26, 2017 6:57 am

Re: ADALM-PLUTO (new DATV SDR)

Post by G4FRE » Thu Dec 13, 2018 11:02 am

Due to the demise of the 8 way RF switch in my Portsdown while out portable at the weekend I was forced to use the Pluto to give Noel a 144Mhz signal. I used v1.25LP11 and used the G4BAO wideband preamp to get enough power out of Pluto to drive the subsequent amplifiers. Worked fine and signals were seen by Noel at 160km

Dave
G4FRE

F1SSF
Posts: 73
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 5:14 pm

Re: ADALM-PLUTO (new DATV SDR)

Post by F1SSF » Thu Dec 13, 2018 7:49 pm

Hi Charles,
You can found in attached files, my .cfg used for tests.
Archive.zip
(2.83 KiB) Downloaded 59 times
I have try to adjust I/Q calibrate, but not real differents
Best 73 Franck

G4GUO
Posts: 628
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 12:51 pm

Re: ADALM-PLUTO (new DATV SDR)

Post by G4GUO » Thu Dec 13, 2018 8:32 pm

I have had a look at your configuration file and cannot see anything wrong.
All I can suggest is that you try a different webcam or the free version of Vmix.

What appears to be happening is that the program is not sending samples fast
enough to the Pluto. I am not sure why this is happening. All I can think of is that
the video camera driver is not working properly. The way the program works is that
it uses the video stream to determine when it needs to pad with NULL packets to
keep the Pluto happy. No video, no null packets equals unhappy Pluto.

I would down load the free version of vMix and try using that as your video capture
source.

- Charles

F1SSF
Posts: 73
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 5:14 pm

Re: ADALM-PLUTO (new DATV SDR)

Post by F1SSF » Thu Dec 13, 2018 8:58 pm

Thank you Charles,
Yes I have Vmix free, I use it with my Portsdown perfectly.
Vmix OUTPUT direct stream on lan, and I intercept stream with FFMPEG batch file in back task, to redirect it in UDP , in Portsdown input IP Ts IN, here no problems , run very well.
So, for DATVExpress, I must used Vmix Output NDI,because DATVExpress has not IPTS Input .I have some problem to configure it, I am not an expert :)
I try again tomorrow and return feedback for you.
Best 73 Franck

G4GUO
Posts: 628
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 12:51 pm

Re: ADALM-PLUTO (new DATV SDR)

Post by G4GUO » Thu Dec 13, 2018 9:38 pm

vMix will appear to DATV-Express as a video / audio capture device.
If vMix is not running it will display colour bars. To stream the video
you need to click on external output on the bottom bar.

- Charles

F1SSF
Posts: 73
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 5:14 pm

Re: ADALM-PLUTO (new DATV SDR)

Post by F1SSF » Sat Dec 15, 2018 10:41 pm

Hi Charles,
I have selected source Vmix Video in DATVExpress, started Vmix, no display colour bar, when I press OUTPUT no stream.
Can you send me your OUTPUT Vmix parameters ?
73 Franck, Tnx

G4GUO
Posts: 628
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 12:51 pm

Re: ADALM-PLUTO (new DATV SDR)

Post by G4GUO » Sun Dec 16, 2018 9:23 am

Screenshot 2018-12-16 09.20.24.png
Screenshot 2018-12-16 09.20.24.png (42.11 KiB) Viewed 927 times
I am just using the defaults, if you are not seeing the colour bars then you are not
transmitting a proper signal.

Post Reply

Return to “DATV - Digital ATV”