portsdown 4

Discussion about this major DATV Project. See https://wiki.batc.org.uk/The_Portsdown_Transmitter
Post Reply
joefran7300
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue May 14, 2024 6:43 am

portsdown 4

Post by joefran7300 » Tue May 14, 2024 6:56 am

Hello to all..
I am mew here on the forum so i am not sure if i am in the right site for asking some question.
My question is about the Portsdown 4 as i am building it and nearly finished but i have a problem about the interconnections of the boards from the GPIO board as i can not find or can not understand all the connections from were too go on the boards.
I has downloaded all the diagrams and all i need if some one can help me as on the diagram of the first GPIO is ok there are all the information but about the new board there is not much information ..
can any one give me some help please..
many thanks
Joe 9H1GT

User avatar
G3GJA
Posts: 346
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2011 3:44 pm

Re: portsdown 4

Post by G3GJA » Wed May 15, 2024 12:32 pm

Joe

You need to provide details of the boards you are going to use with the Portsdown.

The diagram here: https://wiki.batc.org.uk/File:PD_4_INTERFACE_V2-12.pdf should provide you with enough information to link the peripheral boards.

73

Clive G3GJA

joefran7300
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue May 14, 2024 6:43 am

Re: portsdown 4

Post by joefran7300 » Thu May 16, 2024 6:11 am

Hi Clive
Thank you for the reply, yes i am using the Portsdown 4 and the GPIO is for the raspbeery4 so the diagram i found on the site is not marked like to old one so i am confused to connect the modules..ie from the GPIO to the Fil mod board and others.
many thanks
Joe 9H1GT

joefran7300
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue May 14, 2024 6:43 am

Re: portsdown 4

Post by joefran7300 » Thu May 16, 2024 6:18 am

https://batc.org.uk/wp-content/uploads/GPIO-BO.jpg
This is the old version and it is all marked ..but this one is not marked like it..
https://batc.org.uk/wp-content/uploads/ ... _V2-12.jpg

G8GKQ
Site Admin
Posts: 2843
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 1:21 pm

Re: portsdown 4

Post by G8GKQ » Thu May 16, 2024 8:01 am

Hi Joe

The filter modulator board is not used with the Portsdown 4. The Portsdown 4 only supports LimeSDR, Pluto or DATV Express, so the the Portsdown 4 GPIO board does not have any markings for the filter modulator board.

If you want to use the Filter Modulator board, you must use a Raspberry Pi 3 with Portsdown 2020; the Filter Modulator board is not compatible with the hardware on the Raspberry Pi 4, and this is why it is not supported by the Portsdown 4.

Further information here: https://wiki.batc.org.uk/The_Portsdown_ ... _Evolution

Dave, G8GKQ

joefran7300
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue May 14, 2024 6:43 am

Re: portsdown 4

Post by joefran7300 » Thu May 16, 2024 4:57 pm

Hi Dave
Thank you very much for the help. Well i have the Pluto also in my setup so i will use the Pluto, but i also have a problem with the Pluto as it is not transmitting and the portsdown Pluto checks is ok so i don't know what is it..
many thanks
regards
joe 9H1GT

G8GKQ
Site Admin
Posts: 2843
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 1:21 pm

Re: portsdown 4

Post by G8GKQ » Sat May 18, 2024 2:14 pm

Joe

Just confirm what firmware you have loaded on the Pluto? And have you extended the frequency range?

Dave

joefran7300
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue May 14, 2024 6:43 am

Re: portsdown 4

Post by joefran7300 » Sat May 25, 2024 11:31 am

Hi Dave
Many thanks for you help and information, i am glad to say that my Por5tsdown with the Aldan Pluto is working fine.
I like to ask if it is possible to find a pin on the Ports down 4 GPIO board that gave me a supply when i put to TX but without delay as i found the TX pin but it has some delay...
many thanks
Joe 9H1GT

User avatar
g6hfs
Posts: 264
Joined: Thu May 26, 2022 3:13 pm

Re: portsdown 4

Post by g6hfs » Thu May 30, 2024 7:30 am

Joe,

The tx delay is there to stop pluto/lime etc sending calibration spikes out.

Brian

joefran7300
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue May 14, 2024 6:43 am

Re: portsdown 4

Post by joefran7300 » Sat Jun 01, 2024 5:04 pm

Hi Brian
Ok thank you for the information as i was wondering in making the switching of the driver and power amplifier in steps to take care of the spikes by the pluto but when i see it on the spectrum analyzer it seams good without any spikes..
73's Joe

Post Reply

Return to “The Portsdown Digital ATV System”