error on Langstone

Forum for discussion about the Langstone Microwave Transceiver that shares some features with the Portsdown. Wiki: https://wiki.microwavers.org.uk/Langstone_Project
g4eml
Posts: 705
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2018 9:36 am

Re: error on Langstone

Post by g4eml » Tue May 07, 2024 8:46 pm

That's very strange, everything looks correct so I don't know why it won't run.
The selection menu is crashing because when it fails the Pluto is not exiting cleanly. That's not too surprising.

I guess it is possible one of the libraries used by the programme has been updated.
The install process loads many libraries and if one of these has changed so it is no longer compatible it could cause problems.

I will have to do a clean build of my system to check that. It might take a day or so to do.

Colin G4EML

G0ILO
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Apr 28, 2024 10:56 am

Re: error on Langstone

Post by G0ILO » Wed May 08, 2024 7:18 am

No problem Colin, your help is appreciated.

g4eml
Posts: 705
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2018 9:36 am

Re: error on Langstone

Post by g4eml » Wed May 08, 2024 7:45 pm

I have just done a fresh build on a new SD card of Langstone V2 using the instructions on GitHub and everything is working as normal.

So the library support is working OK. That only leaves some sort of hardware issue with your system.

Have you tried booting Langstone with the network disconnected? Some people have experienced problems before with excessive network traffic slowing down the Pi.

Also check your network does not use the 192.168.2.x range of addresses. By default the Pluto uses those and there will be a clash if your home network also uses the same range.

Colin G4EML

G0ILO
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Apr 28, 2024 10:56 am

Re: error on Langstone

Post by G0ILO » Thu May 09, 2024 7:43 am

Thanks for trying that Colin. Not really the result I wanted to hear lol.
Yes I've booted up with the ethernet cable disconnected and also with my router switched off as the Langstone sits quite close to it. This was just in case there was anything odd going on that I couldn't see. Unfortunately the same result though. The only things common across all this now are the Pi4 and Touchscreen. I wouldn't of thought there's an issue but I don't know. I don't have another Pi4, I do have an unused Pi3 (somewhere) but I don't think that's suitable. Bite the bullet and get another Pi4 perhaps?

Cheers,

Paul.

g4eml
Posts: 705
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2018 9:36 am

Re: error on Langstone

Post by g4eml » Thu May 09, 2024 9:01 am

I doubt that the pi4 would build everything and yet fail to run the program.

Although it should not be necessary you could try to reset the pluto's IP address..

Use the set_pluto command and it should ask you for the IP address or name.

Enter 192.168.2.1 or pluto.local

One of these should already be the default but it is worth trying both.

Colin.

G1INU
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu May 30, 2024 1:03 pm

Re: error on Langstone

Post by G1INU » Sat Jun 08, 2024 3:00 pm

g4eml wrote:
Mon Apr 29, 2024 8:15 am
You could also try just reinstalling GNU Radio

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get -y install gnuradio
And make sure it completes without errors.

Colin G4EML
Hi Colin
I hope you don't mind me jumping on this thread but I have the same problem "ImportError: No module named gnuradio" and I think I need to try your suggestion above. Could you confirm where I run that from, is it from pi@raspberrypi: or do I need to go to a specific sub directory to run it please?
Regards
Mark
Regards
Mark - G1INU

g4eml
Posts: 705
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2018 9:36 am

Re: error on Langstone

Post by g4eml » Sat Jun 08, 2024 6:21 pm

Yes, just run it from the default login folder.

Colin.

G1INU
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu May 30, 2024 1:03 pm

Re: error on Langstone

Post by G1INU » Sun Jun 09, 2024 9:35 am

g4eml wrote:
Sat Jun 08, 2024 6:21 pm
Yes, just run it from the default login folder.

Colin.
Thank's Colin,

That resolved the problem. Well one of them :D

Mark
G1INU
Regards
Mark - G1INU

g4eml
Posts: 705
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2018 9:36 am

Re: error on Langstone

Post by g4eml » Sun Jun 09, 2024 11:19 am

The install routine includes gnuradio by default. It sounds like something didn't work correctly during the original install. Probably due to an internet issue.
Other install items may have been affected at the same time.

Colin.

Pa3fbx
Posts: 198
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2020 1:08 pm

Re: error on Langstone

Post by Pa3fbx » Mon Jun 10, 2024 9:31 am

G0ILO wrote:
Thu May 09, 2024 7:43 am
Thanks for trying that Colin. Not really the result I wanted to hear lol.
Yes I've booted up with the ethernet cable disconnected and also with my router switched off as the Langstone sits quite close to it. This was just in case there was anything odd going on that I couldn't see. Unfortunately the same result though. The only things common across all this now are the Pi4 and Touchscreen. I wouldn't of thought there's an issue but I don't know. I don't have another Pi4, I do have an unused Pi3 (somewhere) but I don't think that's suitable. Bite the bullet and get another Pi4 perhaps?

Cheers,

Paul.

I understand your using a original Pluto.
Shouldn't it be flashed with a F5OEO firmware?
Or is Langstone also capable using a clean new AD firmware.

Benno

Post Reply

Return to “The Langstone Microwave Transceiver”