Streaming IPTS with Pluto

Discussion about this major DATV Project. See https://wiki.batc.org.uk/The_Portsdown_Transmitter
mccla5214
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2021 1:45 am

Streaming IPTS with Pluto

Post by mccla5214 » Wed Sep 15, 2021 12:09 am

Going to make a guess here that Portsdown 4 doesn't support streaming IPTS over Pluto? All examples are with LimeSDR that I have found.

Basil
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 7:28 pm

Re: Streaming IPTS with Pluto

Post by Basil » Wed Sep 15, 2021 6:55 am

I am very much a beginner but I believe you can, if I understand the question correctly. I stream from OBS and Portsdown 4 over a 40 plus foot LAN cable to the Pluto and amplifiers at the base of my dish, and it's proven very reliable. 2E0ILY

g8lce
Posts: 228
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2015 10:26 am

Re: Streaming IPTS with Pluto

Post by g8lce » Wed Sep 15, 2021 8:14 am

You may need to change the FEC or try other settings as I have found that although the Portsdown 4 says it is transmitting, it may not be. I was connecting via LAN to a Pluto when I found that the settings I was using did not produce an output even though the TX was red! Altering the setup (by selecting the 437MHz Pluto preset) worked.

Martin G8LCE

G3GJA
Posts: 165
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2011 3:44 pm

Re: Streaming IPTS with Pluto

Post by G3GJA » Wed Sep 15, 2021 9:58 am

I now use IPTS streaming always with my Pluto, but I found initially trying to do it by sending the stream to the Pluto's IP didn't work for me when the Pluto was connected via USB.

For me the workaround was to power the Pluto via the dedicated power Micro USB socket and then plug a USB to Ethernet adapter in the OTG Micro USB socket. The Ethernet IP address can be set by the config file located in the folder that shows up in Windows. I used an Anker USB to Ethernet Gigabit adapter.

My line up is now OBS>VirtualCam>F1EJP><Ethernet>Portsdown><Ethernet>Pluto. I've used it with 1920 x 1080 25 frames video, DVB-S2 8PSK 9/10 with outstanding quality.

This also works fine with the Langstone. Note that it's not a supported configuration, so don't expect any of the Portsdown team to help if you get stuck!

Clive

G8GKQ
Site Admin
Posts: 2232
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 1:21 pm

Re: Streaming IPTS with Pluto

Post by G8GKQ » Wed Sep 15, 2021 10:47 am

We need to be careful with terminology here.

Streaming IPTS from another computer to a Portsdown 4 with a USB-connected Pluto is a supported capability (although limitations of the rtmp protocol used to send the TS to the Pluto means that it ONLY works for H264).

Using a Portsdown 4 to generate and send the rtmp protocol to a network-connected Pluto is a capability that should work. However, it is NOT supported because I have no configuration control of the network configuration and infrastructure. You are on your own if you choose to use this configuration.

Dave, G8GKQ

mccla5214
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2021 1:45 am

Re: Streaming IPTS with Pluto

Post by mccla5214 » Wed Sep 15, 2021 10:11 pm

Hi Dave,

Unfortunately I am so new on the portsdown 4 that I guess I need to explain a little better what I am try to do.

Have the pluto as the transmitter setup on 1296. I can get output on PI Cam, Contest Numbers, PiScreen and Testcard with no issue. Am trying to set up the portsdown 4 to accept streaming input over UDP from laptop running OBS.

I can't find an input under source to allow me to select an incoming TS stream as the source. It only shows PICam, Compvid, contest numbers, Webcam IncC920, HDMI (which I thought I had read that the portsdown 4 wouldn't accept an HDMI input) and PiScreen.

If I select HDMI Monitor as an input source and hit transmit, all I get is a red transmit button but no output signal on 1296 (PIScreen does the same thing but I do get output).

Also on Menu 2 IPTS monitor when I select that all I get is a blank screen. The IPTS input and output settings are default except the IPTS IP address is set to my laptop address. Should this address be set to the PD4 IP address for an incoming stream?

I know the PD4 is on the network because stream viewer is pulling down streams from BATC and output to IPTS is outputting a stream. I still am waiting for access to BATC after setting up my stream in the members section so I can't check if it's streaming that way.

I've watched a bunch of YouTube videos and read through all the posts I can find and can't seem to find how to stream OBS into the PD4 to get it to go out on the transmitter or why I'm not seeing it on the IPTS Monitor (thinking that this displays the incoming stream). Could it have to do with the Pluto creating a second network (192.168.2.10)?

Thanks
Mike/KA5TDA

G8GKQ
Site Admin
Posts: 2232
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 1:21 pm

Re: Streaming IPTS with Pluto

Post by G8GKQ » Thu Sep 16, 2021 9:13 am

Hi Mike

There are 3 steps towards solving your problem.
  • The first is to set up OBS to stream correctly. The recommended configuration is to use OBS with the additional Virtual Camera plugin (with autostart of the plugin), then an F1EJP script or application to stream the OBS output to the Portsdown. You must use H264 encoding - nothing else will work with the Pluto. You should set up the F1EJP application to stream to the Portsdown IP address (as shown in Portsdown Menu 2, Info) and port 10000.
  • Once OBS is set up, you need to check that the Portsdown is seeing the stream. In Menu 3, TS IP Config, make sure that the TS In IP Port is set to 10000. Then go to Menu 2 IPTS Monitor and check for a picture (and audio). If that doesn't work first time, you can leave it slected while you play with OBS and the F1EJP script to find the problem.
  • Once you have the stream displayed on the Portsdown, then you can transmit it by going to Menu 1, Encoder, and selecting IPTS In. The rationale behind this is that the encoder is external, so you select an external encoder in the encoder menu. Then when you go to transmit it should all work.
Of course the encoding setting in the F1EJP porgram need to match what you have set on the Portsdown, but that does not appear to be your problem.

You mention a second network for the Pluto. This is normal; it is only a problem if your home network is on 192.168.2.*. Let me know if it is.

Lastly, your BATC Stream is already set up (automatically when you join). Log in, go to your account settings, scroll down and you will find the 6 character stream key.

Dave, G8GKQ

mccla5214
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2021 1:45 am

Re: Streaming IPTS with Pluto

Post by mccla5214 » Thu Sep 16, 2021 1:08 pm

Thanks Dave,

Followed the instructions you gave, edited the batch file to correct IP address and callsign. When the batch kicks in and runs I get this in another popup window (this is before start virtual camera is pressed).

Nothing in the IPTS Monitor screen. Wireshark shows lots of traffic going out from my IP to the PD4 IP on port 10000.

Mike

Past duration 0.999992 too large
[dshow @ 0322cec0] real-time buffer [OBS-Audio] [audio input] too full or near too full (100% of size: 3041280 [rtbufsize parameter])! frame dropped!
Last message repeated 7 times
Past duration 0.849998 too large
[dshow @ 0322cec0] real-time buffer [OBS-Audio] [audio input] too full or near too full (100% of size: 3041280 [rtbufsize parameter])! frame dropped!
Last message repeated 7 times
Past duration 0.824989 too large
[dshow @ 0322cec0] real-time buffer [OBS-Audio] [audio input] too full or near too full (100% of size: 3041280 [rtbufsize parameter])! frame dropped!
Last message repeated 2 times
Past duration 0.999992 too large

mccla5214
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2021 1:45 am

Re: Streaming IPTS with Pluto

Post by mccla5214 » Thu Sep 16, 2021 1:17 pm

Didn't have auto start turned on in the virtual camera plug in. Now getting this on the Video Transport Windows but still no display on the IPTS Monitor in PD4.

Mike
[swscaler @ 03b13f00] Warning: data is not aligned! This can lead to a speed loss
Input #0, dshow, from 'video=OBS-Camera':
Duration: N/A, start: 60112.416000, bitrate: N/A
Stream #0:0: Video: rawvideo (YUY2 / 0x32595559), yuyv422, 1280x720, 60 fps, 60 tbr, 10000k tbn, 10000k tbc
Guessed Channel Layout for Input Stream #1.0 : stereo
Input #1, dshow, from 'audio=OBS-Audio':
Duration: N/A, start: 60112.495000, bitrate: 1411 kb/s
Stream #1:0: Audio: pcm_s16le, 44100 Hz, stereo, s16, 1411 kb/s
Stream mapping:
Stream #0:0 -> #0:0 (rawvideo (native) -> h264 (h264_nvenc))
Stream #1:0 -> #0:1 (pcm_s16le (native) -> aac (native))
Press [q] to stop, [?] for help
Output #0, mpegts, to 'udp://192.168.1.184:10000?pkt_size=1316&bitrate=1843100':
Metadata:
service_provider: F1EJP
service_name : KA5TDA
encoder : Lavf58.12.100
Stream #0:0: Video: h264 (h264_nvenc) (Main), yuv420p(progressive), 1920x1080 [SAR 1:1 DAR 16:9], q=-1--1, 1270 kb/s, 25 fps, 90k tbn, 25 tbc
Metadata:
encoder : Lavc58.18.100 h264_nvenc
Side data:
cpb: bitrate max/min/avg: 1270444/0/1270444 buffer size: 1270444 vbv_delay: -1
Stream #0:1: Audio: aac (LC), 44100 Hz, mono, fltp, 128 kb/s
Metadata:
encoder : Lavc58.18.100 aac
frame= 1853 fps= 25 q=19.0 size= 12992kB time=00:01:14.02 bitrate=1437.7kbits/s dup=0 drop=2591 speed=0.999x

G8GKQ
Site Admin
Posts: 2232
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 1:21 pm

Re: Streaming IPTS with Pluto

Post by G8GKQ » Thu Sep 16, 2021 1:47 pm

Hi Mike

That is looking more hopeful. Not sure what SR and FEC you are trying to run, but I would suggest that you start with 333 kS and FEC 2/3. I get the impression that you are running something much higher which will not have been tested and may be causing you problems. We are very bandwidth conscious over here, both on terrestrial and the satellite.

Confirm that your Portsdown is on 192.168.1.184 ?

Dave

Post Reply

Return to “The Portsdown Digital ATV System”