GTMEDIA V8 Finder (V73-HD) Able to receive QO-100 Beacon.

Latest News and Discussion about the use of the DATV transponder on Es'hail-2
Post Reply
2W0ODS
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2018 5:15 pm

GTMEDIA V8 Finder (V73-HD) Able to receive QO-100 Beacon.

Post by 2W0ODS » Tue Jun 18, 2019 2:16 pm

Picked one of these up from eBay a couple of weeks ago, this model is identifiable by the Gold front case, I have no idea if the older Yellow V71-HD V8 finder can do this, I did have one a while back but QO-100 hadn't launched then.

Was just aligning one of my dishes and thought i'd see if this thing would work with the QO-100 Beacon, indeed it does and tunes outside the normal domestic satellite range. I will have to see if it will tune in lower SR's. The lowest SR you can set through the menu is 1000, but I will have a play with the channel/satellite editing software and try and manually add a SR of 333 and see if it accepts it that way.
Cheap useful tool for alignment and an added bonus you can align to the QO-100 Beacon.

https://youtu.be/Dg1GTgU3l3s

2W0ODS
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2018 5:15 pm

Re: GTMEDIA V8 Finder (V73-HD) Able to receive QO-100 Beacon.

Post by 2W0ODS » Tue Jun 18, 2019 4:12 pm

Received as low as 1000KS, Device does not allow you to enter anything below 1000KS, currently messing around with the chipset software to see if I can manually add a "Channel" Or edit config settings to allow lower Symbol Rates.
CT1BYM rx'd @ 1000KS, Pictures attached.
Attachments
20190618_170606.jpg
20190618_170606.jpg (225.9 KiB) Viewed 26646 times
20190618_170600.jpg
20190618_170600.jpg (245.29 KiB) Viewed 26646 times

User avatar
keng8vdp
Posts: 143
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2016 8:51 am

Re: GTMEDIA V8 Finder (V73-HD) Able to receive QO-100 Beacon.

Post by keng8vdp » Mon Nov 20, 2023 12:43 pm

Try 70cm , it works on mine sr 1k.

There are some fake GTmedia ones around even the gold ones see:
https://www.freesat.cn/forum/viewtopic. ... 0&start=50

Did anyone try the YELLOW one ?

G8XPZ
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2017 5:17 pm

Re: GTMEDIA V8 Finder (V73-HD) Able to receive QO-100 Beacon.

Post by G8XPZ » Sat Feb 24, 2024 2:59 pm

Hi
Just been experimenting with the yellow V8 finder and I have managed to get the QO-100 Beacon on 10491.000 and 1.5 ms/s.
To program the v8 add a new satellite then add a new transponder. Then entering the frequency will not work if the LNB is set at 9750 as it will reply not in range.
To get around this I changed the LNB to universal 5150-11475 - then enter the frequency after saving the configuration.
This will enable you to set a frequency of 10491 mhz and save it.
Next go back into the transponder and move to the second menu change the LNB back to 9750.
Save again and then do a search using blue button and A71A should appear!
i am using a 80cm dish and getting 63% strength and 55% quality when no cloud in the way.
Attachments
IMG_20240224_131240.jpg
IMG_20240224_131240.jpg (1.28 MiB) Viewed 10821 times
IMG_20240224_131116.jpg
IMG_20240224_131116.jpg (1.25 MiB) Viewed 10821 times
IMG_20240224_130758.jpg
IMG_20240224_130758.jpg (1.59 MiB) Viewed 10821 times

g8vpg
Posts: 385
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2013 9:35 am

Re: GTMEDIA V8 Finder (V73-HD) Able to receive QO-100 Beacon.

Post by g8vpg » Tue Feb 27, 2024 2:38 pm

I tried this with the latest orange coloured iBravebox v9 Finder and it does not work because that universal lnb option is not available. Also, although it tunes 1500ks/s, it will not tune 1000ks/s.
73 Shaun.

Post Reply

Return to “Es’hail-2 - DATV Transponder”