OBS via IPTSin on the PortsDown

Discussion about this major DATV Project. See https://wiki.batc.org.uk/The_Portsdown_Transmitter
Jabi
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2020 3:23 pm

Re: OBS via IPTSin on the PortsDown

Post by Jabi » Wed Feb 10, 2021 9:42 am

Good morning:
of it is possible, please, send me one configuration for Portsdown 4 and Pluto for IPTSin on the Portsdown.
73,s de Jabi, ea2aru.

G8YTZ
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2019 7:43 pm

Re: OBS via IPTSin on the PortsDown

Post by G8YTZ » Wed Apr 07, 2021 8:05 pm

John,

All working, but OBS output resolution is set to 768x432 (16:9) However ffmpeg is turning this into 768 x 576 and squashing the 16:9 into 4:3, have I configured something incorrectly or can I put a switch in the ffmpeg bat file?

Justin.

G8YTZ
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2019 7:43 pm

Re: OBS via IPTSin on the PortsDown

Post by G8YTZ » Wed Apr 07, 2021 8:07 pm

Select IPTS under Encoder on the M1 Portsdown menu. It works fine with the Pluto

PE5PVB
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2012 6:51 pm

Re: OBS via IPTSin on the PortsDown

Post by PE5PVB » Sat Apr 10, 2021 7:23 pm

What codec should I select for encoding H265?

G8GKQ
Site Admin
Posts: 2074
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 1:21 pm

Re: OBS via IPTSin on the PortsDown

Post by G8GKQ » Sat Apr 10, 2021 7:35 pm

To use IPTS in on the Portsdown, you need to select "IPTS in" on the Encoder Menu. The Portsdown doesn't then care about the encoding, because it is done on the computer that feeds the IPTS to the Portsdown. The Portsdown simply modulates whatever it gets on to the signal.

So, you need to select H265 in whatever script you are using to encode the OBS output.

Dave, G8GKQ

PE5PVB
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2012 6:51 pm

Re: OBS via IPTSin on the PortsDown

Post by PE5PVB » Sat Apr 10, 2021 7:56 pm

Dave,

Yes I understand. But how should is setup OBS and ffmpeg to work with H265

G8GKQ
Site Admin
Posts: 2074
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 1:21 pm

Re: OBS via IPTSin on the PortsDown

Post by G8GKQ » Sat Apr 10, 2021 8:05 pm

Hi

OBS and using ffmpeg on PCs is not my area of expertise. I suggest that you read this topic: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=7207

Dave, G8GKQ

PE5PVB
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2012 6:51 pm

Re: OBS via IPTSin on the PortsDown

Post by PE5PVB » Sat Apr 10, 2021 8:42 pm

Thanks for the link. That seems to work fine.
I think I have to buy a videocard for encoding, currently only a lot of glitches and frame drops ;-)

Post Reply

Return to “The Portsdown Digital ATV System”