Portsdown stream receiver box

Discussion about this major DATV Project. See also https://wiki.batc.tv/The_Portsdown_Transmitter
g8gtz
Posts: 920
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 6:26 pm

Portsdown stream receiver box

Post by g8gtz » Wed Jul 18, 2018 1:11 pm

Dave G8GKQ said:
New Portsdown Stretch Software Release 201807150

This release adds the ability to view and listen to the BATC Streamer, so rather than your Portsdown sitting there showing a Menu when you are not using it, you can display your local repeater. Select from Menu 2. It's fairly straightforward, but full details are here: https://wiki.batc.org.uk/Streaming_Display. Full contents of the update:

Add BATC Streamer Display Function
Resize H264 testcards for 7 inch display
Provide warning when Portsdown TX not available after audio usage
Correct FEC when switching from Lime to other output
Do not start the framebuffer copy for 7 inch display
What Dave has just released turns the Raspberry Pi in to a very capable streaming display appliance or box (something we’ve not had before) and could be used by people to receive an incoming personal stream and feed the composite output in to their Tx. For example G4KLB could receive G7JTT and put it out on SQ rather than struggle with 2nd screens on PCs etc.

I've suggested to Dave that with some enhancements, this could be made in to a very interesting box siting on a repeater input to allow an automatic internet based input and replace Skype etc that some of us have played with with limited amounts of success.

73
Noel - G8GTZ

g0mjw
Posts: 500
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2014 9:15 am

Re: Portsdown stream receiver box

Post by g0mjw » Wed Jul 18, 2018 4:28 pm

Dave G8GKQ said:
New Portsdown Stretch Software Release 201807150

Correct FEC when switching from Lime to other output
Lime? So it is working now!

Mike

G8GKQ
Site Admin
Posts: 829
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 1:21 pm

Re: Portsdown stream receiver box

Post by G8GKQ » Wed Jul 18, 2018 5:11 pm

No - Lime is not working!

I was just correcting an element of the GUI that I had built to control the Lime in future. I'm working on getting it going, but there is a few month's work yet. The MyriadRF documentation is frustratingly opaque.

Dave

G1BVI
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 7:32 am

Re: Portsdown stream receiver box

Post by G1BVI » Fri Jul 20, 2018 8:43 pm

Just starting to box up my Portsdown.
It is running the latest software.
I found the stream viewer,
Selected it and I get Menu 20 as per the wikki.
Selecting any stream it just reverts to Menu 1

Checking the streams on the www site GB3GV is displaying video and the rest black screens.
I tried every selection on the portsdown with the same result,

What am I missing???

Thanks and 73
Nick

G8GKQ
Site Admin
Posts: 829
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 1:21 pm

Re: Portsdown stream receiver box

Post by G8GKQ » Fri Jul 20, 2018 10:30 pm

Hi Nick

That's a strange one. My only suggestion is that check for update again, and then force an update.

Dave

G1BVI
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 7:32 am

Re: Portsdown stream receiver box

Post by G1BVI » Sat Jul 21, 2018 8:20 am

Hi Dave
I forced an update as per your sugestion and .......... Eureka ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

Its now viewing the stream
Thankyou

73

Nick

G7JTT
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2016 5:05 pm

Re: Portsdown stream receiver box

Post by G7JTT » Sat Jul 21, 2018 10:36 am

Great idea Noel and agree this has transformed my use of the Portsdowns , as it's not my go to stream watching divice. I wonder how difficult it would be to have a active list as apposed to fixed presets Dave? Would be good to see this installed at as many repeaters as possible for those of us out of range. Sadly I'm not about this Sunday for the SQ net but will talk to Colin and see if we can test it out soon. Only issue I have at the moment is no right hand audio from my Pi will have to investigate when I have time.

All best John G7JTT

G1BVI
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 7:32 am

Re: Portsdown stream receiver box

Post by G1BVI » Wed Aug 08, 2018 9:18 pm

I have receive stream issues again on my Portsdown?
GB3VL is active on web site but not received on Portsdown.
All the rest seem to display when active.
I have forced an update but no change?
Am I alone in having this problem I wonder?
Thanks
73
Nick

G8GKQ
Site Admin
Posts: 829
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 1:21 pm

Re: Portsdown stream receiver box

Post by G8GKQ » Thu Aug 09, 2018 9:09 pm

Nick

GB3VL works fine on my test unit. Please could you reboot and try GB3VL as the first thing to look at?

There is an issue when if you do certain other things (like look at the Portsdown info) before using the stream player that it does not work, but I get the feeling there is something else going on here.

Dave

G1BVI
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 7:32 am

Re: Portsdown stream receiver box

Post by G1BVI » Thu Aug 09, 2018 10:22 pm

Hi Dave
Rebooted from the M3 Menu.
Went to M2 and entered stream menu.

Selected GB3VL and still nought.?

73

Nick

Post Reply

Return to “The Portsdown Digital Transmitter Project”