ADALM-PLUTO (new DATV SDR)

Digital ATV - The latest generation, cutting edge ATV - Please discuss it all here.
Forum rules
This forum is run by the BATC (British Amateur Television Club), it is service made freely available to all interested parties, please do not abuse this privilege.

Thank you
g8lce
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2015 10:26 am

Re: ADALM-PLUTO (new DATV SDR)

Post by g8lce » Sun Jun 30, 2019 11:42 am

Check the power you are feeding to the power amp. It could be upsetting the usb power. I had the usb input board of a Minitioune blow when a power supply I used was not very nice!!! Earths are not always what they seem!!!

Martin G8LCE.

radiogareth
Posts: 317
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 9:46 am

Re: ADALM-PLUTO (new DATV SDR)

Post by radiogareth » Wed Jul 03, 2019 7:24 am

I find the Pluto is very sensitive to usb wobbles and earth loops. Works fine on its own, as soon as I connect other things on other PSUs I get connects/disconnects.
No solution as yet other than to use portable laptop on battery.
Gareth

g7jfi
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2016 4:31 pm

Re: ADALM-PLUTO (new DATV SDR)

Post by g7jfi » Thu Jul 11, 2019 9:47 am

Hi Gareth.
The problem has been fixed by one user.

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/rf-microw ... to-sdr/25/

Look about 2/3 down the page. You can search the page for his user name "Taucher" to take you to the relevant post.

Hope this helps. I'll be modding mine as soon as the warranty is out as I have same problem, but it is not too intrusive at the minute as I seldom disconnect the Tx port while it is in use.

Terry G7JFI

radiogareth
Posts: 317
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 9:46 am

Re: ADALM-PLUTO (new DATV SDR)

Post by radiogareth » Tue Jul 23, 2019 1:36 pm

Thanks Terry. I have had a close look at that diagram. Seems all I need to do is bridge the ground side of the bifilar choke to achieve the same thing. Diagram isn't wonderfully clear but adding what would be several cms of wire surely isn't 'good RF practice'? Seat of pants feeling here.....
I'll try it on one of mine and see if it behaves any better.
Gareth

radiogareth
Posts: 317
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 9:46 am

Re: ADALM-PLUTO (new DATV SDR)

Post by radiogareth » Sat Jul 27, 2019 8:47 am

Meanwhile over on the FB ADALM Pluto user group this was posted....

Pavel Husák
14 hrs
Hello to all PlutoSDR owners,

I have replaced internal oscillator in Pluto. I have used ASTX-13-C-40.000MHz-I05-T. Pluto is more stable then before and I am able to make SSB qso now without drifting. No need GPS stabilisation I think.

I have had no experience with SMD removing from PCB, so change was little bit dramatical, but I have done it and Pluto works.

Now is Pluto fully usable for QO-100.

Thanks to Mathias DL9BQ for usable informations - look at his qrz.com pages.

Have a nice day de Pavel OK1PHU

Mouser UK have them in abundance :-)

radiogareth
Posts: 317
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 9:46 am

Re: ADALM-PLUTO (new DATV SDR)

Post by radiogareth » Sat Jul 27, 2019 11:25 am

And a bit more info here (translate as required).

https://www.f1te.org/index.php/realisat ... dalm-pluto

Don't like Mousers £12 delivery charge though!!

Gareth

on8ge
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2015 9:20 pm

Re: ADALM-PLUTO (new DATV SDR)

Post by on8ge » Sun Aug 11, 2019 6:23 am

New firmware 0.31 has been released. Pluto don't work anymore with DATV Expres SW here, any idea ?

User avatar
M5TXJ
Posts: 188
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2017 8:34 pm

Re: ADALM-PLUTO (new DATV SDR)

Post by M5TXJ » Tue Oct 01, 2019 8:32 pm

Just spotted this on Twitter, it seems there may be hope for those of us with a Pluto yet? Not sure of the background to the tweet but looks interesting.
Attachments
Screenshot_20191001-212846_Twitter.jpg
Screenshot_20191001-212846_Twitter.jpg (540.76 KiB) Viewed 270 times

g0mjw
Posts: 904
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2014 9:15 am

Re: ADALM-PLUTO (new DATV SDR)

Post by g0mjw » Tue Oct 01, 2019 9:20 pm

Yes, it works. Evariste has surpassed himself again. Just flash the new firmware and send your Pluto RTMP, which may require a fight with Windows network settings.

In my case my main PC refused to work but my laptop was fine.

Mike

m0eyt
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2018 3:30 pm

Re: ADALM-PLUTO (new DATV SDR)

Post by m0eyt » Sun Oct 06, 2019 9:32 pm

Evening all,

Yep that's my twitter post 2 above this, the pluto is working really nicely on QPSK/8PSK and 16APSK. As Mike says you just shove an RTMP stream at the unit over IP and out comes RF.

In my config in the VMIX software I have;

URL : rtmp://1.2.3.4:7272/,437,DVBS2,16APSK,333,12,
Pass : ,M0EYT,

The parameters are fairly obvious, and should be in exactly the format described above. The only think I needed to tweak in VMIX was the video output setting so it basically matches the symbol rate, else overflows start to appear.

With the pluto the RF output on 2.4G is fairly low, I think from memory I measured -18dBm average with a 333Ksps QPSK, an old Avantek gain block takes this up to 20mW then another amp up to a watt where its fed to a PE1RKI amp for about 22watts at the feed, easily enough to get 333Ksps QPSK up to the satellite with a 1.2m offset dish. Now the setup runs on the bench, I'll put a USB <> Ethernet adapter onto the Pluto, and build PA/SDR etc into my outdoor unit along with WB/NB source switching.

PNG.png
PNG.png (15.25 KiB) Viewed 140 times

Pic above shows the nice clean QPSK generated by the pluto.

Hope to see you on the w/b transponder,

regards,

Paul M0EYT.

Post Reply

Return to “DATV - Digital ATV”