Easiest way to see if my QTH is suitable for UHF?

Ideas, technical topics, help and discussion for ATV enthusiasts
Forum rules
This forum is run by the BATC (British Amateur Television Club), it is service made freely available to all interested parties, please do not abuse this privilege.

Thank you
Basil

Easiest way to see if my QTH is suitable for UHF?

Post by Basil » Tue Sep 10, 2013 7:38 pm

I am an HF operator, with occasional dabbles into VHF and UHF via basic gear and FM, mainly through the Stoke or Denbigh repeaters, although I could sometimes open the Stockport 2 meter one when it was working. My QTH is at IO82qv in a little hamlet called Lower Heath. As the name suggests it's low lying.... I wonder what the cheapest way is to test the suitability of the site for amateur TV is? I don't want to get carried away buying equipment to find I am unable to operate from here. There are no hams very close to me who I know to ask an opinion of. Can someone perhaps suggest some ideas to see if I am wasting my time or not in the most cost effective manner please? I have a Strumech P60 sixty foot wind up tower and plenty of space to do pretty much what I want, but 60 foot is as high as I can afford to go :) Is there any YouTube or similar footage showing the sort of signal quality one might expect these days form ATV? Thanks. 2E0ILY, Shropshire.

g8gtz

Re: Easiest way to see if my QTH is suitable for UHF?

Post by g8gtz » Tue Sep 10, 2013 8:57 pm

Hi

You are line of site to GB3UD, located at Mow Cop north of stoke. Coverage from your site is generally not bad, particularly to the North West.

If you send me an email chairman@batc.org.uk I'll send you a couple of site coverage maps.

&3

Noel - G8GTZ

Basil

Post by Basil » Tue Sep 10, 2013 9:22 pm

Hi Noel, getting mail bouncing back from that address, sorry, but my mail address is chris@chriswilson.tv Many thanks!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This is the mail system at host mx2.comgw.net.