ADALM-PLUTO (new DATV SDR)

Digital ATV - The latest generation, cutting edge ATV - Please discuss it all here.
Forum rules
This forum is run by the BATC (British Amateur Television Club), it is service made freely available to all interested parties, please do not abuse this privilege.

Thank you
F1SSF
Posts: 73
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 5:14 pm

Re: ADALM-PLUTO (new DATV SDR)

Post by F1SSF » Mon Dec 10, 2018 6:30 am

Hi alls,
Please I've need information.
I have installed my Pluto PC ( I5 - 2,5Ghz - 8Mo Ram) on windows 10, drivers, extended frequency, last firmware (0,29), and I have a problem.
When I send carrier, I can saw on my spectrum analyser that the carrier stops during transmission (alls 2 seconds about, sometime 1s, 3 s)
It is a real problem to TX video stream.
What do you think about it ? (no others softwares run, and I have try to change USB port, same problem)
Best 73 Franck F1SSF

g0mjw
Posts: 911
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2014 9:15 am

Re: ADALM-PLUTO (new DATV SDR)

Post by g0mjw » Mon Dec 10, 2018 7:33 am

Frank,

You don't say anything about what what software so we can't really help. In general all I can say is make sure you are using a good USB cable and a port capable of powering the pluto and have the correct drivers installed and have set up the virtual network correctly. Beyond that, we need more information.

I would start by eliminating the obvious. Does it work with other software? You say no other software runs? Also try an English OS Locale setting as sometimes non-English ones give issues. A good example being the French use of a comma for a decimal point or in DATV Express for example, problems reading the info from sources.

Mike

F1SSF
Posts: 73
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 5:14 pm

Re: ADALM-PLUTO (new DATV SDR)

Post by F1SSF » Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:10 pm

Hi Mike ,
Thank you .
I have try DATVEXPRESS 1.25 LP11 (from Charles) and 1.26 with UDP entry (from Evariste)
I use original Pluto usb cable on USB2.
I try with SDR#, Pluto run, but modulation is not very good (metallic )
Ok for . or , I try this evening.
Best 73
Franck F1SSF

g0mjw
Posts: 911
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2014 9:15 am

Re: ADALM-PLUTO (new DATV SDR)

Post by g0mjw » Mon Dec 10, 2018 5:36 pm

I see - I think your problem may be the capture device in DATV express or the codec settings. What exactly are you trying to transmit? Symbol rate, codec etc?

Mike

F1SSF
Posts: 73
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 5:14 pm

Re: ADALM-PLUTO (new DATV SDR)

Post by F1SSF » Mon Dec 10, 2018 6:08 pm

Mike,
I don't transmit anything, if you read my first message, the problem is already on carrier , after I find italso on video flux (I try to send a picture)

g0mjw
Posts: 911
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2014 9:15 am

Re: ADALM-PLUTO (new DATV SDR)

Post by g0mjw » Mon Dec 10, 2018 6:19 pm

I had red that, but just because you only transmit a carrier does not mean the software won't not work because its capture settings are incorrect. Get everything right and try it.

Mike

F1SSF
Posts: 73
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 5:14 pm

Re: ADALM-PLUTO (new DATV SDR)

Post by F1SSF » Mon Dec 10, 2018 9:19 pm

Mike , sorry for my English see two videos.
https://vimeo.com/305585784
https://vimeo.com/305586156
super 73 Franck

g0mjw
Posts: 911
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2014 9:15 am

Re: ADALM-PLUTO (new DATV SDR)

Post by g0mjw » Mon Dec 10, 2018 9:44 pm

Those didn't play in Chrome. It looks like you are not getting the throughput on the USB. You have set a very high bandwidth - I don't think the Pluto can do that much. Try something more realistic, e.g. 1 MS/s

F1SSF
Posts: 73
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 5:14 pm

Re: ADALM-PLUTO (new DATV SDR)

Post by F1SSF » Tue Dec 11, 2018 7:58 pm

Hi Mike,
You have set a very high bandwidth
I have try differents SR , from 500 to 2000, same probleme
Also, I have changed computeur, but on W7, same problem
I have downgrade firmware 0.29 to 0.27, same problem
and I have replace original USB cable by an other, same problem.
On my Pluto bottom, it's write: PCB RevB
I am desepered.... :!:
best 73 Franck

g0mjw
Posts: 911
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2014 9:15 am

Re: ADALM-PLUTO (new DATV SDR)

Post by g0mjw » Tue Dec 11, 2018 8:32 pm

Hi Franck

That's very strange. Maybe there is a bug. Did you try SDR Angel? At least that might narrow it down. Also remember what I said about locales.

Mike

Post Reply

Return to “DATV - Digital ATV”