Page 1 of 2

Now Safe to Update or Build Ryde

Posted: Tue Jun 21, 2022 3:05 pm
by G8GKQ
If you updated your Ryde today, it will not receive anything due to an update to VLC which has broken the way that Ryde works.

If you have already updated, or need to build a new card, entering the code below will fix it.

The first segment (which rolls back to the previous version of VLC) is a series of lines that the RPi reads as one line due to the \ markers at the end of each visual line:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get --allow-downgrades -y install vlc=3.0.12-0+deb10u1+rpt3 \
libvlc-bin=3.0.12-0+deb10u1+rpt3 \
libvlc5=3.0.12-0+deb10u1+rpt3 \
libvlccore9=3.0.12-0+deb10u1+rpt3 \
vlc-bin=3.0.12-0+deb10u1+rpt3 \
vlc-data=3.0.12-0+deb10u1+rpt3 \
vlc-plugin-base=3.0.12-0+deb10u1+rpt3 \
vlc-plugin-qt=3.0.12-0+deb10u1+rpt3 \
vlc-plugin-video-output=3.0.12-0+deb10u1+rpt3 \
vlc-l10n=3.0.12-0+deb10u1+rpt3 \
vlc-plugin-notify=3.0.12-0+deb10u1+rpt3 \
vlc-plugin-samba=3.0.12-0+deb10u1+rpt3 \
vlc-plugin-skins2=3.0.12-0+deb10u1+rpt3 \
vlc-plugin-video-splitter=3.0.12-0+deb10u1+rpt3 \
vlc-plugin-visualization=3.0.12-0+deb10u1+rpt3
The second segment is 15 individual commands to prevent the problem recurring:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-mark hold vlc
sudo apt-mark hold libvlc-bin
sudo apt-mark hold libvlc5
sudo apt-mark hold libvlccore9
sudo apt-mark hold vlc-bin
sudo apt-mark hold vlc-data
sudo apt-mark hold vlc-plugin-base
sudo apt-mark hold vlc-plugin-qt
sudo apt-mark hold vlc-plugin-video-output
sudo apt-mark hold vlc-l10n
sudo apt-mark hold vlc-plugin-notify
sudo apt-mark hold vlc-plugin-samba
sudo apt-mark hold vlc-plugin-skins2
sudo apt-mark hold vlc-plugin-video-splitter
sudo apt-mark hold vlc-plugin-visualization
I will build these into the build and update scripts in the next few days.

Dave, G8GKQ

Re: Don't Update Ryde at the Moment!

Posted: Sat Jun 25, 2022 6:03 pm
by g6hfs
Hi Dave,

Any update on a new build.

Thanks for all you hard work.

73

Brian (G6HFS)

Re: Don't Update Ryde at the Moment!

Posted: Mon Jun 27, 2022 8:49 pm
by G8GKQ
Hi Brian

Hope to publish the new build tomorrow.

Dave, G8GKQ

Re: Don't Update Ryde at the Moment!

Posted: Tue Jun 28, 2022 9:30 am
by g6hfs
Hi Dave,

Thank you for your reply, I am ready to do my first build of the Ryde software on the pi 4 and hope to have it all up-to date, will start when back from my current trip.

73

Brian (G6HFS)

Re: Don't Update Ryde at the Moment!

Posted: Tue Jun 28, 2022 11:10 am
by G8GKQ
I have just released a new build of Ryde (202206280) that includes the fixes for this VLC problem. So it is now safe to update, or start new builds, of Ryde.

If you updated (or new-built) during the period when there was the problem, a further update should restore normal service. Simply go into the console menu and select update.

Please report any issues here.

Dave, G8GKQ

Re: Now Safe to Update or Build Ryde

Posted: Tue Jun 28, 2022 1:59 pm
by g6hfs
Hi Dave,

Many thanks for the update and time involved.

73

Brian (G6HFS)

Re: Now Safe to Update or Build Ryde

Posted: Thu Dec 08, 2022 6:33 pm
by CU2ED
Hello Dave,

today I decide to update my Ryder and after the software looks at a signal it crashes and I get the raspberry command line ...

I do have a backup from my previous version and installed it again on the same sd card and it works 100% but it's an old version from 2021.
Decide to start from the beginning with a new install using the same sd card, the same problem if I use again my backup it works.
So, when possible, can you or anyone else confirm if the actual Ryder install script works? I don't know where to start debugging because my backup version works 100%.

73

Jacinto
cu2ed

Re: Now Safe to Update or Build Ryde

Posted: Thu Dec 08, 2022 9:31 pm
by G4GHD
Same result as Jacinto here, a couple of seconds, then as soon as it looks at the beacon preset it crashes to the command line.

Re: Now Safe to Update or Build Ryde

Posted: Fri Dec 09, 2022 9:51 am
by G8GKQ
I am investigating this fault today.

Dave, G8GKQ

Re: Now Safe to Update or Build Ryde

Posted: Fri Dec 09, 2022 8:51 pm
by G8GKQ
Now fixed

Just run an update: Log in to the ssh prompt, type menu, select "10 Check for Software update" and press y.

Dave