Customising the Ryde information display

Discussions about the Ryde "Set-top Box" Style Digital ATV Receiver. See https://wiki.batc.org.uk/Ryde_Receiver
g8gtz
Posts: 1732
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 6:26 pm

Customising the Ryde information display

Post by g8gtz » Fri Jul 23, 2021 3:49 pm

Tim MW0RUD has pointed out a little-known feature on the Ryde to enable you customise the on-screen display - in particular, you can make the MER display stay on screen 24/7 and not just on start up - most useful for repeater receivers.

This involves editing the config.yaml so only be undertaken by experts or fool hardy!

Using a tool such as winscp https://winscp.net/eng/index.php log in to your Ryde and navigate to /home/pi/ryde

Download the config.yaml and then save a second copy (just in case!)

Open the file with a proper editor such as notepad++ (NOT windows notepad). Go down to OSD which should look like this:

Code: Select all

osd:
    timers:
        USERTRIGGER: 10
        PROGRAMTRIGGER: 10
    active:
        MUTE: null
        MER: null
        REPORT: null
        PROGRAM: null
        FREQ: null
        SR: null
    inactive:
        MUTE: null
Add under inactive

Code: Select all

        MER: null
EDIT! NOTE it is 4 spaces and not a tab before MER.

The code now looks like:

Code: Select all

osd:
    timers:
        USERTRIGGER: 10
        PROGRAMTRIGGER: 10
    active:
        MUTE: null
        MER: null
        REPORT: null
        PROGRAM: null
        FREQ: null
        SR: null
    inactive:
        MUTE: null
        MER: null
Load it back on to the Ryde and reboot the application - if it fails to start, you messed up the editing so start again!

Note Tim commented this will get overwritten when doing an update, so save the modified file somewhere.

73 Noel

MW0RUD
Posts: 97
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2020 3:09 pm

Re: Customising the Ryde information display

Post by MW0RUD » Fri Jul 23, 2021 4:25 pm

Thanks for the beginners guide Noel.

For anyone feeling adventurous it is also possible to move and resize the modules away from the default layout using the config file, the full config file docs and a sample config file are at https://github.com/eclispe/rydeplayer. The sample file is designed to demo all the features rather than be a suggested config to actually use.

Those docs are written assuming a reasonable amount of familiarity with programming and how Ryde it setup. They are mostly written as the quickest way to get the knowledge out of my head where it is more likely to be useful to someone. This is why they are a rather dense file format description rather than a more accessible how-to guide.

I always aim to keep these docs up to date as I know how annoying out of date documentation is, so new features usually come with new advanced options to configure things in the config file.

I should also point out that yes the config file will likely be overwritten during an update so saving a copy is a good idea. However we don't (currently) guarantee that we won't change the format during updates so current files may not work correctly in future versions so you may sometimes have to make the edit on a fresh config file after updates.

I look forward to seeing how people modify the layout and if anybody comes up with a layout that might make a better default.

Tim

P.S. it should be 4 spaces per indent not 5 :)

g8gtz
Posts: 1732
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 6:26 pm

Re: Customising the Ryde information display

Post by g8gtz » Sun Jul 25, 2021 2:55 pm

Hi Tim

Any chance of an example for resizing / moving as the code below did not work!

Code: Select all

osd:
    timers:
        USERTRIGGER: 10
        PROGRAMTRIGGER: 10
    active:
        MUTE: null
        MER: null
            datum: BL
        REPORT: null
        PROGRAM: null
        FREQ: null
        SR: null
    inactive:
        MUTE: null
        MER: null
Noel

MW0RUD
Posts: 97
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2020 3:09 pm

Re: Customising the Ryde information display

Post by MW0RUD » Sun Jul 25, 2021 9:58 pm

Hi Noel,

The default size/location for MER is:

Code: Select all

        MER:
            datum: TR
            x: 0.03
            y: 0.15
            w: 0.2
            h: 0.15
The "null" means use the default so you don't include that when specifying it manually and when specifying it manually you must include all 5 values (Datum, X distance from datum, Y distance from datum, width and height).

This for example moves it to the bottom left and makes it twice as big as the default:

Code: Select all

        MER:
            datum: BL
            x: 0.03
            y: 0.03
            w: 0.4
            h: 0.3
Note that if you want it to be in the same place when both active and inactive you need to put the code in both sections. e.g.

Code: Select all

osd:
    timers:
        USERTRIGGER: 10
        PROGRAMTRIGGER: 10
    active:
        MUTE: null
        MER:
            datum: BL
            x: 0.03
            y: 0.03
            w: 0.4
            h: 0.3
        REPORT: null
        PROGRAM: null
        FREQ: null
        SR: null
    inactive:
        MUTE: null
        MER: MER:
            datum: BL
            x: 0.03
            y: 0.03
            w: 0.4
            h: 0.3
Tim

User avatar
G3GJA
Posts: 337
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2011 3:44 pm

Re: Customising the Ryde information display

Post by G3GJA » Mon Jul 26, 2021 10:22 pm

Did you get this to work Noel?

I wanted to put the report in the BL corner but failed. Stops the red screen leaving a console prompt.

Clive

MW0RUD
Posts: 97
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2020 3:09 pm

Re: Customising the Ryde information display

Post by MW0RUD » Mon Jul 26, 2021 10:54 pm

Hi Clive,

If you are ending back at the console the log from running it manually should have an error message saying why. If I had to guess it is probably your config file being syntactically invalid, first thing I'd check is that your indentation is consistent.

Tim

g8gtz
Posts: 1732
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 6:26 pm

Re: Customising the Ryde information display

Post by g8gtz » Tue Jul 27, 2021 7:58 am

Looks like there's a problem with your editing - it's very fussy and in particular use spaces not tabs!

I've never seen an error message Tim.

Noel

G7VVF
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2014 9:11 am

Re: Customising the Ryde information display

Post by G7VVF » Tue Jul 27, 2021 10:27 am

My effort seems to be partially correct. It displays 0.0db MER continuously when no signal is received. When a signal is received it displays the new MER value over the top of the 0.0db MER, both values are then displayed continuously. Have I missed something?

Duncan G7VVF
Attachments
IMG_9720.JPEG
IMG_9720.JPEG (783.59 KiB) Viewed 10384 times
IMG_9721.JPEG
IMG_9721.JPEG (923.4 KiB) Viewed 10384 times
IMG_9722.JPEG
IMG_9722.JPEG (881.51 KiB) Viewed 10384 times

G8GKQ
Site Admin
Posts: 2798
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 1:21 pm

Re: Customising the Ryde information display

Post by G8GKQ » Tue Jul 27, 2021 10:48 am

Hi Duncan

I think that a reboot should cure that problem. An old display layer was not properly cleared while you were setting it up.

Please let us know if that works.

Dave

G7VVF
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2014 9:11 am

Re: Customising the Ryde information display

Post by G7VVF » Tue Jul 27, 2021 11:14 am

Thanks Dave,
I had rebooted the Ryde (from the shutdown menu) after I had uploaded the modified config file. However this time I rebooted both the Pi and the MiniTiouner by removing power to both and now the MER display works correctly.

many thanks
Duncan

Post Reply

Return to “The Ryde Digital ATV Receiver”