Editing the Ryde software for remote and not locked screen

Discussions about the Ryde "Set-top Box" Style Digital ATV Receiver. See https://wiki.batc.org.uk/Ryde_Receiver
Post Reply
g8lce
Posts: 354
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2015 10:26 am

Editing the Ryde software for remote and not locked screen

Post by g8lce » Wed Nov 11, 2020 11:44 am

NOTE: You have to use Putty or other program to open the Ryde to alter the firmware.

I have been helped by the team to get my Ryde working as I want and have made some videos of the processes. To help others I have made a notepad text file so it gives a start place for remote programming and a few links etc. that can be copied and pasted using windows and nano in the Raspberry Pi.
If you have not used nano on the RPi then try typing nano at the command prompt and try it. The help is at the bottom of the RPi screen BUT remember that to navigate you need to use the arrow buttons on your keyboard - not the mouse!

On a Windows computer if you use copy ( left click - highlight - right click copy ) and paste ( select position - right click ) you can make your own notepad file from below for your editing of your remote data ( copy from the --- to 0x09 inclusive )
Once you have made the data file you can copy and paste the line cd /home/pi/RydeHandsets/definitions to go to the directory where you will store it under the name virgin.yaml .

The other notes can be used to find the place to edit the Not Locked page for repeater owners.

Use menu item 7 to find your remotes codes and edit the list below. Remember to edit rc-5 to your remotes code as well.
Then you can use copy and paste with nano to save the new data as virgin.yaml

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

---
name: My Remote Name
driver: rc-5
buttons:
POWER: 0x0d
UP: 0x16
DOWN: 0x17
LEFT: 0x18
RIGHT: 0x19
SELECT: 0x1a
BACK: 0x14
MENU: 0x15
MUTE: 0x20
VOL+: 0x21
VOL-: 0x22
CHAN+: 0x23
CHAN-: 0x24
ZERO: 0x00
ONE: 0x01
TWO: 0x02
THREE: 0x03
FOUR: 0x04
FIVE: 0x05
SIX: 0x06
SEVEN: 0x07
EIGHT: 0x08
NINE: 0x09


---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Handset data directory

cd /home/pi/RydeHandsets/definitions

If you store you data file as virgin.yaml which seems to be the default one selected
at first, then your new remote should works upon resetting the Pi

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

To change the Not Locked screen

cd /home/pi/ryde/rydeplayer/states/

then use nano to edit playback.py

nano playback.py

at line 75 where it says:


self.frontSurface.fill(self.theme.colours.backgroundPlayState)
displayText = "ERROR\nNOT FOUND"
if(newState == States.NOLONGMYND):
displayText = "LongMynd\nNot Loaded"
elif(newState == States.NOLOCK):
displayText = "Not\nLocked"
self.drawMessage(displayText, self.frontSurface)
self.frontDispmanxlayer.updateLayer()
return True

Change the line displayText = "Not\nLocked" to something like

displayText = "RYDE RX @\nG8LCE IO70LD\nTX 1249MHz SR 2M\nRX 1316MHz 437MHz\nSR 125K 333K 1M 2M"

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please Note that I was helped by others to do this and this information is in other places on the forum.

Martin G8LCE

g8lce
Posts: 354
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2015 10:26 am

Re: Editing the Ryde software for remote and not locked screen

Post by g8lce » Wed Apr 03, 2024 4:24 pm

To change the background colour

cd /home/pi/ryde/rydeplayer/

nano player.py

then go down to where it says :
Screenshot 2024-04-04 092941.png
Screenshot 2024-04-04 092941.png (81.49 KiB) Viewed 442 times

and change the colours of 'backgroundPlayState': (0,255,0,255), . This has already been done in this example to green. It goes RGBI

Martin G8LCE

g8lce
Posts: 354
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2015 10:26 am

Re: Editing the Ryde software for remote and not locked screen

Post by g8lce » Thu Apr 04, 2024 10:32 am

Now for the HDMI screen...

I have a Ryde that has been updated and the HDMI output decided to go low resolution and 4 by 3! To force it to 1080 and 16 by 9 I did the following editing:

cd /boot/

sudo nano config.txt

and changed the text that is now white:
Screenshot 2024-04-04 112340.png
Screenshot 2024-04-04 112340.png (69.52 KiB) Viewed 433 times
Martin G8LCE

g8lce
Posts: 354
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2015 10:26 am

Re: Editing the Ryde software for remote and not locked screen

Post by g8lce » Fri Apr 05, 2024 8:18 am

Some examples of above editing:
Screenshot 2024-04-05 090828.png
Screenshot 2024-04-05 090828.png (174.07 KiB) Viewed 315 times

Screenshot 2024-04-05 091100.png
Screenshot 2024-04-05 091100.png (292.71 KiB) Viewed 315 times


Note that you may have to redo the editing after a software update

Martin G8LCE

Post Reply

Return to “The Ryde Digital ATV Receiver”