Adjust analog video output?

Discussions about the new Ryde "Set-top Box" Style Digital ATV Receiver
Post Reply
DL5BCA
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2020 11:59 am

Adjust analog video output?

Post by DL5BCA » Thu Aug 27, 2020 6:25 am

I use the analog PAL video output.
The entire screen is not displayed there on the left.
When I open the menu, the first letter of the menu is missing.
I've tried two different TVs, each with the same display.

I thought I could influence the display with the settings in the config.txt.
However, this only works for the console display.

Is there the possibility to adjust it somewhere?
73 Thomas
DL5BCA

g0mjw
Posts: 1337
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2014 9:15 am

Re: Adjust analog video output?

Post by g0mjw » Thu Aug 27, 2020 7:35 am

Are you sure it is not that your monitor is not set correctly? Quite often there is an overscan setting. Besides, who still uses Analog video in 2020?

DL5BCA
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2020 11:59 am

Re: Adjust analog video output?

Post by DL5BCA » Thu Aug 27, 2020 9:22 am

I've tried it on two different TVs.

The receiver is running with me as a test and is later used as a repeater receiver.
The signal processing in the repeater is analogous.

I will test a HDMI2AV converter this evening.
73 Thomas
DL5BCA

g0mjw
Posts: 1337
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2014 9:15 am

Re: Adjust analog video output?

Post by g0mjw » Thu Aug 27, 2020 9:48 am

TVs tend to overscan - there is usually a setting to correct this. Often it's called computer.

Mike

MW0RUD
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2020 3:09 pm

Re: Adjust analog video output?

Post by MW0RUD » Thu Aug 27, 2020 3:43 pm

Hi Thomas,
As mike said fixing this in the display is the ideal solution, I use an HDMI2AV converter as part of my test setup as it handles wide screen much better.

If you can't fix it in hardware then try adding

Code: Select all

overscan_scale=1
to your config.txt, this is not ideal as it may lead to some scaling artefacts.
Tim

DL5BCA
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2020 11:59 am

Re: Adjust analog video output?

Post by DL5BCA » Thu Aug 27, 2020 5:49 pm

Hello Tim,

thank you for the help. This command helps.
Now the whole picture fits on the screen
See picture.
Attachments
20200827_194614_resized.jpg
20200827_194614_resized.jpg (654.17 KiB) Viewed 679 times
73 Thomas
DL5BCA

Post Reply

Return to “The Ryde Digital ATV Receiver”