PicoTuner Now Supported by Ryde

Discussions about the Ryde "Set-top Box" Style Digital ATV Receiver. See https://wiki.batc.org.uk/Ryde_Receiver
Post Reply
G8GKQ
Site Admin
Posts: 2842
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 1:21 pm

PicoTuner Now Supported by Ryde

Post by G8GKQ » Thu Apr 04, 2024 6:52 pm

I have today published a new Ryde software release (202403220) that supports use of the PicoTuner and the MiniTiouner. The 2 are interchangeable (NOT both connected at once) and should perform identically.

To update, log into the ssh console, type "menu" and press enter. Go to option 10 "Update" and follow the instructions from there.

Thanks to Colin G4EML and Tim MW0RUD for all their work on this software.

Please give details of any PicoTuner-specific bugs here - but first check that they don't happen with the MiniTiouner as well please!

Dave, G8GKQ

g8lce
Posts: 363
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2015 10:26 am

Re: PicoTuner Now Supported by Ryde

Post by g8lce » Fri Apr 19, 2024 8:55 am

I have changed my Ryde / Minitiuoner receiver for GB3NQ HD channel to a Ryde / PicoTuner. The RPi was updated to the latest software. The system runs continuously. Since changing over I have seen a few problems that might not show when used for a short while.
1)The audio stopped working. A reset of the RPI sorted that.
2)There are occasional 'waiting for source' then back to normal. This seems to be OK when a signal is received.
3)The 'waiting for source' stuck today and was cleared by a reset of the RPi.
The above feed can be seen using VLC with the below feed:
rtsp://82.144.238.35:8889/live/0

I have made both versions of the two channel RX. This shows the speed advantage of the FDTI modules which can handle two 2M SR channels while the Pico will just do two 1.5M SR while using Opentuner.
53649836046_0e86f9aeaf_k.jpg
53649836046_0e86f9aeaf_k.jpg (524.94 KiB) Viewed 3553 times
Martin G8LCE

g8lce
Posts: 363
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2015 10:26 am

Re: PicoTuner Now Supported by Ryde

Post by g8lce » Fri Apr 19, 2024 10:23 am

Further details from above.
The signal I am looking for with the Ryde / Picotuner is 1316MHz and 2M SR
The 'Waiting for Source' appears for about a second every few minutes or so. The above link to a VLC stream is easily overwhelmed if too many people watch it!

Martin G8LCE

g4eml
Posts: 705
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2018 9:36 am

Re: PicoTuner Now Supported by Ryde

Post by g4eml » Fri Apr 19, 2024 9:12 pm

The RP2040 processor in the Pico board only supports USB1.1 spec which is 12Mb/s. The FTDI module supports USB2.1 which works up to 480Mb/s.

So unfortunately the PicoTuner USB will never be able to handle high SR signals as well as the Minitiouner. Especially when trying to receive two TS at the same time. As you say two 1.5M SR signals pretty much takes up all of the available USB transfer time on a PicoTuner.

I believe the BATC shop will continue to stock the Minitiouner PCBs for projects that need the higher SR capability.

Colin G4EML

g8lce
Posts: 363
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2015 10:26 am

Re: PicoTuner Now Supported by Ryde

Post by g8lce » Mon Apr 22, 2024 9:01 am

Yes Colin, I was not expecting to receive two 2M SR streams. It is just that I found this was happening to the Ryde when updated firmware and the Picotuner used. The sound was the first thing that failed after a long run. That was cured with a switch off/on. The Ryde worked for a while then stopped receiving and the software was still trying but came up with this:
Screenshot 2024-04-21 094902.png
Screenshot 2024-04-21 094902.png (1.28 MiB) Viewed 3273 times
After forcing an update of the software it was back to normal working again .

I will continue to monitor the system and report any problems.

This Ryde and the old Minitiouner worked well. I have used two Picotuners with this Ryde and had software problems after long periods. It takes a while to identify exactly where the problem is.

Martin G8LCE
Last edited by g8lce on Mon Apr 22, 2024 10:22 am, edited 1 time in total.

g8lce
Posts: 363
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2015 10:26 am

Re: PicoTuner Now Supported by Ryde

Post by g8lce » Mon Apr 22, 2024 9:45 am

While looking for a replacement RPi, I had a thought that it might be a memory size problem! I will look at the size of RPI memory in the old RPi incase it is a small one. Reading the Ryde info I see it says that a 4 or even 8 Gb memory might be needed in the future and the Pico update might have needed more than 2 Gb if left running for a long time.
Just a thought.

Martin G8LCE

g8lce
Posts: 363
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2015 10:26 am

Re: PicoTuner Now Supported by Ryde

Post by g8lce » Sat Apr 27, 2024 10:12 am

The problem seems to have gone! It started with a loss of audio and ended with a RPi crash! Since forcing a reboot (to the same updated software version) the system has been working ever since without a reboot. Same RPi and same Picotuner.
VLC stream rtsp://82.144.238.35:8889/live/0

Martin G8LCE

g8lce
Posts: 363
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2015 10:26 am

Re: PicoTuner Now Supported by Ryde

Post by g8lce » Wed May 29, 2024 7:35 am

After running for around a month my Ryde/Picotuner has lost audio again! Tried a quick reset but that did not bring it back. I will investigate futher....
It is receiving 1316MHz 2000kSR (GB3NQ).

g8lce
Posts: 363
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2015 10:26 am

Re: PicoTuner Now Supported by Ryde

Post by g8lce » Thu Jun 06, 2024 8:07 am

Found the problem is something to do with the audio encoding/decoding! I changed the encoder (ENC1) from ACC audio to G711U (or G711A) and it worked again. It could be the repeater audio encoding has changed and the encoder that streams it did not like it! The Ryde was working and audio coming out the HDMI, just the encoding may have changed and the system did not like it.

Martin G8LCE

Post Reply

Return to “The Ryde Digital ATV Receiver”