yet another Lang_RX/TX.py error

Forum for discussion about the Langstone Microwave Transceiver that shares some features with the Portsdown. Wiki: https://wiki.microwavers.org.uk/Langstone_Project
f6itu

yet another Lang_RX/TX.py error

Post by f6itu » Mon Jul 19, 2021 3:41 pm

Hi
I'm a complete newbie trying to install and use Langstone (alone, without portsdown).
The cpu board is a Raspi4 with the 7' touchscreen
I scrupulously followed the github instructions.

The first run ended with a "Lang_RX.py" error. The USB "white-as-in-the-langstone-wiki" key was not working (even if seen by lsusb and the ./set_sound code)

After changing the device, a "1) hw:CARD=ICUSBAUDIO7D,DEV=0" was immediately recognized. But alas, still the same Lang_RX.py error when booting Langstone.

After a few tries, I realised that stopping and running Langstone via the SSH console made this error disappear and displayed my waterfall. RX is clear and demodulation perfect

In other words, Langstone is running without troubles .... as long as you stop and re-run the code. Technically satisfying but ergonomically boring.

I also discovered that the USB dialog between the raspi and the Adalm-Pluto was very slow. Pluto_Test gave me a

"1000 Calls made in 1601 ms with 0 failures
Pluto throughput measured at 624 calls per second
Typical value on a working system is 1900 calls per second"

I have nothing between the Pi4 and the Pluto board, I changed several times the cable, and the PSU is an original Raspi one.

Does anyone have a vague idea of what the problem is?

With my VY 73'
Marc f6itu

g4eml

Re: yet another Lang_RX/TX.py error

Post by g4eml » Mon Jul 19, 2021 10:31 pm

That sound device is not one I have seen before. But it appears that you did get it working.

Have you tried connecting the Pluto to different USB ports? Some people have found that it works better when connected to the USB2 ports.

f6itu

Post by f6itu » Tue Jul 20, 2021 9:53 am

Thank you, Colin