Minitiouner RX OK but no picture SORTED TNX BATC Members

Discussion about the MiniTiouner board and the MiniTiouner Digital ATV Receive Software. See also http://www.vivadatv.org/index.php
g4eml
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2018 9:36 am

Re: Minitiouner issue RX OK but no picture HELP PLS

Post by g4eml » Thu Oct 03, 2019 10:34 pm

Don’t know about the portsdown issue but the laptop is not decoding video because it doesn’t have the required filters. The red box on the right hand side is the clue to that. It must be green for the video to work.

I have seen the same problem recently on one laptop after Windows did an update. In that case it was fixed by reinstalling the LAV filters as described in the wiki.

User avatar
keng8vdp
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2016 8:51 am

Re: Minitiouner issue RX OK but no picture HELP PLS

Post by keng8vdp » Fri Oct 04, 2019 7:27 am

g4eml wrote:
Thu Oct 03, 2019 10:34 pm
Don’t know about the portsdown issue but the laptop is not decoding video because it doesn’t have the required filters. The red box on the right hand side is the clue to that. It must be green for the video to work.

I have seen the same problem recently on one laptop after Windows did an update. In that case it was fixed by reinstalling the LAV filters as described in the wiki.
Wow, Colin, I think you might have hit the target. Coincidentally as I swapped the Minitiouner from Portsdown the laptop it did do an update & took ½ hour to do so.
All the info I've had on here has been very useful although I've not yet had time to try or look at all suggested possibilities yet.
It also might be worth me treating the Portsdown issue separately by the looks of it as I may have jumped to the wrong conclusion that the issue is the same on that.

Hopefully I'll have some time this weekend.

Many thanks Ken

radiogareth
Posts: 317
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 9:46 am

Re: Minitiouner issue RX OK but no picture HELP PLS

Post by radiogareth » Fri Oct 04, 2019 7:57 am

Just realised I had a similar/same issue, no video but 'all the lights on green'. MT reporting that a file couldn't be found on launch (window obscured by MT). Re-ran the filters install, back to normal. Thanks you Microsoft :-(

Gareth

g0mjw
Posts: 908
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2014 9:15 am

Re: Minitiouner issue RX OK but no picture HELP PLS

Post by g0mjw » Fri Oct 04, 2019 9:15 am

keng8vdp wrote:
Thu Oct 03, 2019 9:12 pm
However, if you feel offended fair enough but it wasn't intended.
Ken
I am not offended. Just frustrated I don't seem to be able to help. As I said earlier, I think it is software and we were missing some crucial information until you posted the screenshot. This confirmed it and I can't be absolutely certain but it does look very much like your codecs are not working. I see from a later post, windows has updated so although you have not changed anything, Microsoft may have. The number of hours people have wasted trying to fix things broken by Microsoft updates must by in the trillions. Even worse, if you don't know the problem is the update you can spend hours chasing the wrong fault.

So, to fix it probably the best way it to start again with the latest software:

First download version 0.8 http://www.vivadatv.org/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=521

This is an older version but has the support files not present in the version 0.9 zip file http://www.vivadatv.org/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=625

There should be a file "Read_Me_Minitioune v08s.pdf" that has the instructions. There are also test programs, Lav Filter installers etc. Run the CheckMiniTiouneDriverAndFilters_V0_5a.exe and address any problems it reports.

Once this is working, you should be able to run version 0.8. You can then download 0.9 from http://www.vivadatv.org/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=625

I would advise putting it in the same directory, overwriting files that have changed.

Hopefully, this will fix things.

User avatar
keng8vdp
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2016 8:51 am

Re: Minitiouner issue RX OK but no picture HELP PLS

Post by keng8vdp » Fri Oct 04, 2019 7:59 pm

radiogareth wrote:
Fri Oct 04, 2019 7:57 am
Just realised I had a similar/same issue, no video but 'all the lights on green'. MT reporting that a file couldn't be found on launch (window obscured by MT). Re-ran the filters install, back to normal. Thanks you Microsoft :-(

Gareth
You were right .. THANK YOU (naughty win10 update)

All working again ... Much appreciation for your input.

Love the way ATVrs work together to help each other. None of this youre 5/9 73 .. next.
Patience is the name of the game .. 30 years in now and i still find it exciting.

User avatar
keng8vdp
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2016 8:51 am

Re: Minitiouner issue RX OK but no picture HELP PLS

Post by keng8vdp » Fri Oct 04, 2019 8:02 pm

g0mjw wrote:
Fri Oct 04, 2019 9:15 am
keng8vdp wrote:
Thu Oct 03, 2019 9:12 pm
However, if you feel offended fair enough but it wasn't intended.
Ken
I am not offended. Just frustrated I don't seem to be able to help. As I said earlier, I think it is software and we were missing some crucial information until you posted the screenshot. This confirmed it and I can't be absolutely certain but it does look very much like your codecs are not working. I see from a later post, windows has updated so although you have not changed anything, Microsoft may have. The number of hours people have wasted trying to fix things broken by Microsoft updates must by in the trillions. Even worse, if you don't know the problem is the update you can spend hours chasing the wrong fault.

So, to fix it probably the best way it to start again with the latest software:

First download version 0.8 http://www.vivadatv.org/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=521

This is an older version but has the support files not present in the version 0.9 zip file http://www.vivadatv.org/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=625

There should be a file "Read_Me_Minitioune v08s.pdf" that has the instructions. There are also test programs, Lav Filter installers etc. Run the CheckMiniTiouneDriverAndFilters_V0_5a.exe and address any problems it reports.

Once this is working, you should be able to run version 0.8. You can then download 0.9 from http://www.vivadatv.org/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=625

I would advise putting it in the same directory, overwriting files that have changed.

Hopefully, this will fix things.
You was correct.
Reinstalled LAV filters and it all came back.

I do tend to scramble about these days .. thinking its this then thinking its that. Im a sucker for a red herring too.
I dont mind that ... as long as its red herring served with Chips.

Many many thanks .. best regards .. Ken

User avatar
keng8vdp
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2016 8:51 am

Re: Minitiouner RX OK but no picture SORTED TNX BATC Members

Post by keng8vdp » Fri Oct 04, 2019 8:14 pm

Re Portsdown appearing not to work with Minitiouner >>>>>>>>>>>>>>

A lesson ive learnt from this is :

Just because you see a signal on the online - BATC/WB spectum display and it looks a very nice signal with a symbol rate and frequency showing
DON'T expect it to be decoded by the Minitioner/ Portsdown to provide Video. Lots of stations are testing and some signals are rubbish, such that the minitioune cant cope with. Some are not very linear either. That was the red herring. I thought my minitiouner was faulty, it wasnt.

g8gtz
Posts: 1162
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 6:26 pm

Re: Minitiouner RX OK but no picture SORTED TNX BATC Members

Post by g8gtz » Sat Oct 05, 2019 3:48 pm

Glad it got resolved :-)

This isn't the first time we've had this problem so I've made a new section on wiki which we can refer people to in future.

https://wiki.batc.org.uk/MiniTioune_sof ... _displayed

Please tweak as required!

73
Noel - G8GTZ

F6DZP
Posts: 207
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 9:59 am

Re: Minitiouner RX OK but no picture SORTED TNX BATC Members

Post by F6DZP » Fri Oct 11, 2019 11:56 am

Hello,
Just because you see a signal on the online - BATC/WB spectum display and it looks a very nice signal with a symbol rate and frequency showing
DON'T expect it to be decoded by the Minitiouner/ Portsdown to provide Video. Lots of stations are testing and some signals are rubbish, such that the minitioune cant cope with. Some are not very linear either. That was the red herring. I thought my minitiouner was faulty, it wasnt.
yes so I will use now the MiniTioune Spectrum analyzer (TSA) that tell me for each station the SR, the freq and if they can be decoded and Dn report, so if it is the worth to try to get them...

look at https://youtu.be/51Sid2Jkulo ( sorry it is in French today, next time I will make demo using my "bad" English)

and when I want to receive 437 MHz or 1255 Mhz, I ghave no more to kow the SR used...
https://youtu.be/fle_O5LQWP4

Jean-Pierre F6DZP

User avatar
keng8vdp
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2016 8:51 am

Re: Minitiouner RX OK but no picture SORTED TNX BATC Members

Post by keng8vdp » Fri Oct 11, 2019 1:47 pm

Dear Jean-Pierre,
Amazing. Thank you so much for your efforts & your development skills. So useful and so usable it gets better and better.

Viva la Minitioune

Ken G8VDP

Post Reply

Return to “The MiniTiouner and MiniTioune Digital Receive Software”